RSS

Stuck – What are your tips for moving past writer’s block?

14 Jul

Stuck – What are your tips for moving past writer’s block?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Stuck – What are your tips for moving past writer’s block?

  1. brittneysahin

    July 14, 2015 at 08:39

    So, I normally don’t get writer’s block while working on a book because I find that if I have the book outlined (very detailed)- I don’t get stuck on what to write. BUT – I do get stuck when outlining/plotting. When actually coming up with the scenes I can get stuck … I tend to put my work aside and do something else- and then realize I am just procrastinating – so I force myself to sit back down and think- play with ideas (usually type)- and some ideas are horrible and then sometimes while I am typing ideas inspiration hits & I am no longer stuck! So, I try to work through it.

    Like

     
    • SilverHart

      July 14, 2015 at 13:56

      Good tactic. Once you detail the outline do you have problems sticking to the trajectory if a new idea or slant pops up or do you stick to the path?

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • brittneysahin

        July 14, 2015 at 14:20

        When writing – often a better idea will emerge then what I had previously outlined – so I go back to the drawing board and make sure the new idea fits & tweak the outline where needed. The reason why I am crazy about outlining is because if I don’t- I can’t finish a book (writer’s block mostly because I don’t know where I am going …)

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. SilverHart

    July 14, 2015 at 22:05

    Good strategy – most writers seem to discover the “big reveal” without a clue at the start. Thank you

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
